Learn to Sail

The Canadian Yachting Association’s Learn to Sail standards provide safe, standardized instruction for recreation and competition in sailing dinghies.

Student Standards

White Sail Levels III and III are the introductory levels. Beginners are introduced to and taught the basic skills of sailing. These levels cover safety, seamanship and boat handling in winds to 9 knots velocity.

Bronze Sail Levels IV and V are levels where sailors are introduced to advanced sailing techniques, including sail trim, boat tuning, boat maintenance, trapezing and the use of the spinnaker. After completing the bronze standards, sailors are competent in winds up to 25 km/hr.

Learn to Race, Silver Sail Level VI and Gold Sail Level VII introduce sailors to racing and advanced racing. They cover racing rules, sail theory, tactics and advanced boat handling skills in all weather.

Instructional courses meeting the CYA Learn to Sail Standard are available at yacht & sailing clubs, sailing schools, community colleges, the YMCA, the Sea Cadets, the Department of National Defence and Scouts Canada.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Racing Update Twitter:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

%d bloggers like this: